Rhode Island Landlord Tenant Law
Rhode Island Landlord Law

Tenant Screening | Join RentLaw.com

 
RentLaw.com

State Laws

Normal Wear Tear
EVICTIONS
Security Deposit
Breaking a Lease

Tenant Screening
Landlord Tenant Forms
Landlord Tenant Statutes
Mold Guide
Section 8
Housing Vouchers

RENTERS INSURANCE
HUD - Housing & Urban Development
Rent Collection
LATE RENT FEES
Credit Reports
Small Claims Courts
Sublet
Rent Control
Landlord Books
Lead Paint Guide
Military Lease Clause
Foreclosures
Bankruptcy
Credit Center

Free Legal Forms
Apartment Ratings
Moving Guides 
Apartment Search
Rent or Buy
Home Inspection
Tax Deductions
Lawyer Search
Home Loans - Bad Credit
Commercial Real Estate
Property Management

Commercial Introduction

Commercial Real Estate Terms

1031 Exchange

Limited Liability Co
Real Estate Trusts
Real Estate School
Contact Rentlaw.com
RentLaw on Linkedin



 

· Chapter 34-18  Residential Landlord Tenant Act - Actual Text of the Act.

· University of Rhode Island Off Campus Housing Guide

The Rhode Island Landlord Tenant Handbook : general reference on landlord-tenant relationships based on Rhode Island General Law (RIGL) Chapter 34-18, entitled the "Residential Landlord and Tenant Act," effective since January 1, 1987. The agency responsible for writing and publishing the Rhode Island Landlord-Tenant Handbook is the State Division of Planning (DOP). They  reserve the sole right to revise, update, rewrite, or make any future changes to the Guide.

 MOLD- is it in your home or apartment? Learn what to do now.

Normal Wear and Tear  and your security deposit.

Renters Insurance - Renters Insurance Guide - Apartments, Condos

 Find Landlord Tenant Lawyers with the Directory

 Landlord Responsibilities - What the landlord does for the tenant.

 Tenant Screening - Our  Tenant Screening Tool. Free Setup. .

 Tenant Rights and Responsibilities 

 Pets - and your landlord. How to Rent With Pets. Pet Deposits.

Rhode Island Security Deposits

SECURITY DEPOSIT: A landlord can take a security deposit from a tenant at the beginning of a new rental term but it cannot exceed one month's rent. Taking a greater sum subjects the landlord to a possible suit under section 56f of the "Act". The deposit must be returned within twenty days after the tenant gives proper notice, moves out, returns the key, and provides a forwarding address. When returning the deposit, the landlord must send the tenant an itemized notice listing any legal deductions withheld from the money being returned. Such deductions can only be for unpaid rent (not future rent that might be legally owed), and physical damages other than ordinary wear and tear.

Read more in Rhode Island Security Deposits

Rhode Island Rental Increases: A landlord must provide a tenant with a written notice 30 days or more prior to the effective date, for a rental increase for a residential tenancy that is on a weekly or monthly basis.  With longer tenancies it is 30 days prior to expiration of the current rental agreement.

The 30-day notice is to be considered a legal minimum for rent increases but can be longer if specified in a rental agreement or desired by the landlord.

Rhode Island

Renters Insurance
Apartment Condo Home
Details
 


 

RENTLAW.com

TENANT SCREEENING

GET YOUR TENANT CREDIT REPORTS
 

FREE SETUP
No Inspection

Criminal & Credit Report, Sex Offender and more

Tenant Screening RentLaw.com