Louisiana Landlord Tenant Law
Louisiana Real Estate

Tenant Screening | Join RentLaw.com

 
RentLaw.com

State Laws

Normal Wear Tear
EVICTIONS
Security Deposit
Breaking a Lease

Tenant Screening
Landlord Tenant Forms
Landlord Tenant Statutes
Mold Guide
Section 8
Housing Vouchers

RENTERS INSURANCE
HUD - Housing & Urban Development
Rent Collection
LATE RENT FEES
Credit Reports
Small Claims Courts
Sublet
Rent Control
Landlord Books
Lead Paint Guide
Military Lease Clause
Foreclosures
Bankruptcy
Credit Center

Free Legal Forms
Apartment Ratings
Moving Guides 
Apartment Search
Rent or Buy
Home Inspection
Tax Deductions
Lawyer Search
Home Loans - Bad Credit
Commercial Real Estate
Property Management

Commercial Introduction

Commercial Real Estate Terms

1031 Exchange

Limited Liability Co
Real Estate Trusts
Real Estate School
Contact Rentlaw.com
RentLaw on Linkedin

In Louisiana, a landlord can only evict a tenant through judicial process.  Lock-outs, removal of the tenant’s property, utility terminations or otherwise rendering the premises uninhabitable or inaccessible, are prohibited as they are in most states. 

 MOLD- is it in your home or apartment? Learn what to do now.

Normal Wear and Tear  and your security deposit.

Renters Insurance - Renters Insurance Guide - Apartments, Condos

 Find Landlord Tenant Lawyers with the Directory

 Landlord Responsibilities - What the landlord does for the tenant.

 Tenant Screening - Our  Tenant Screening Tool. Free Setup. .

 Tenant Rights and Responsibilities 

 Pets - and your landlord. How to Rent With Pets. Pet Deposits.

Security Deposits

 

 There is a law in Louisiana called the "Lessee's Deposit Law," that says a landowner must return your deposit within 30 days of the date you move out. If any part of a deposit is not returned, the landowner must send you a list of the things you are being charged for and the rest of the deposit. A deposit may be kept for unreasonable wear to the apartment. The act penalizes the willful failure of the landowner to obey the law by permitting the tenant the right to recover actual damages or $200, whichever is greater. Failure to remit within 30 days of a tenant's written demand for a refund shall constitute willful failure. The judge may award costs and lawyer's fees to the side that wins if you take the landowner to Court. The law says you cannot give up, or waive, this right, even in a lease. Read the more on Louisiana Security Deposit Law.

Louisiana 

Renters Insurance
Apartment Condo Home
Details
 


 

RENTLAW.com

TENANT SCREEENING

GET YOUR TENANT CREDIT REPORTS
 

FREE SETUP
No Inspection

Criminal & Credit Report, Sex Offender and more

Tenant Screening RentLaw.com