Evictions Maine
Maine Evictions

Tenant Screening | Join RentLaw.com

 
In Maine

State Laws

Normal Wear Tear
EVICTIONS
Security Deposit
Breaking a Lease

Tenant Screening
Landlord Tenant Forms
Landlord Tenant Statutes
Mold Guide
Section 8
Housing Vouchers

RENTERS INSURANCE
HUD - Housing & Urban Development
Rent Collection
LATE RENT FEES
Credit Reports
Small Claims Courts
Sublet
Rent Control
Landlord Books
Lead Paint Guide
Military Lease Clause
Foreclosures
Bankruptcy
Credit Center

Free Legal Forms
Apartment Ratings
Moving Guides 
Apartment Search
Rent or Buy
Home Inspection
Tax Deductions
Lawyer Search
Home Loans - Bad Credit
Commercial Real Estate
Property Management

Commercial Introduction

Commercial Real Estate Terms

1031 Exchange

Limited Liability Co
Real Estate Trusts
Real Estate School
Contact Rentlaw.com
RentLaw on Linkedin

SmallLandlord.com
EVICTION REPORTS
- TENANT EVICTION HISTORY
 No Inspection
Plus Criminal & Credit Report and more

Eviction Reports

FIND EVICTION LAWS or LAWYERS

FILING AN EVICTION IN Maine    - Maine State Guide

A Maine landlord must give you a written Eviction Notice, sometimes called a "Notice To Quit." If you do not have a lease, the Notice will tell you that you have either 7 days or 30 days to move out. (An oral eviction notice is generally not legal). Keep your eviction notice.

The Maine Eviction Notice is not the same thing as a court order. Your landlord cannot legally evict you until he gets a court order allowing the eviction.
If your landlord tries to evict you without getting a court judgment, call the police. They should help you as long as there is no court order. As in most states, the landlord cannot legally change the locks, shut off your utilities or try to keep you out of your home. 

At the end of the time period given in your Eviction Notice (usually 7 days or 30 days), your landlord can serve you with court eviction papers. These are called a "Summons and Complaint".

Usually, the notice of a court date gives you only a short time to prepare (as little as 7 days). If you can find a lawyer quickly enough, provide this information to your Maine Eviction Lawyer as soon as possible:

  • your eviction notice (sometimes called "Notice to Quit")
  • your lease or rental agreement (if you have one)
  • rent receipts or other evidence of payment (if issue is non-payment)
  • Summons and Complaint.

You should contact a local social services agency or a Maine Eviction Lawyer to assist you if you are served a notice.

Landlords should be sure to use the proper forms and documentation when serving notice.

Disclaimer: The law is constantly changing and there may be times when the information on this web site will not be current. This information is provided for general informational purposes only and is not intended as legal advice. This information is not a comprehensive treatment of the subject and is not a substitute for advice from an attorney. Find Maine Eviction Lawyers

Maine Eviction

Renters Insurance
Apartment Condo Home
Details
 


 

RENTLAW.com

TENANT SCREEENING

GET YOUR TENANT CREDIT REPORTS
 

FREE SETUP
No Inspection

Criminal & Credit Report, Sex Offender and more

Tenant Screening RentLaw.com