Utah Security Deposit
Security Deposits Utah

Tenant Screening | Join RentLaw.com

 
In RentLaw.com

State Laws

Normal Wear Tear
EVICTIONS
Security Deposit
Breaking a Lease

Tenant Screening
Landlord Tenant Forms
Landlord Tenant Statutes
Mold Guide
Section 8
Housing Vouchers

RENTERS INSURANCE
HUD - Housing & Urban Development
Rent Collection
LATE RENT FEES
Credit Reports
Small Claims Courts
Sublet
Rent Control
Landlord Books
Lead Paint Guide
Military Lease Clause
Foreclosures
Bankruptcy
Credit Center

Free Legal Forms
Apartment Ratings
Moving Guides 
Apartment Search
Rent or Buy
Home Inspection
Tax Deductions
Lawyer Search
Home Loans - Bad Credit
Commercial Real Estate
Property Management

Commercial Introduction

Commercial Real Estate Terms

1031 Exchange

Limited Liability Co
Real Estate Trusts
Real Estate School
Contact Rentlaw.com
RentLaw on Linkedin


UTAH SECURITY DEPOSIT

Returning the Security Deposit  - The landlord must return a tenant's deposit within thirty days after the tenancy ends, or within fifteen days after the landlord's receipt of the tenant's new address, whichever is later. 

If you keep a tenant's deposit, you must detail all your expenses allowed by law or under the lease, deduct them from the deposit, and then refund the difference to the tenant. Landlords may keep a deposit to compensate for unpaid rent, damages beyond reasonable wear and tear, cleaning, and other costs provided for in the rental contract.

Your Deposit - What to do.

Utah law requires the owner to return the security deposit to the renter within 30 days of termination of tenancy or within 15 days after receipt of the renter's new mailing address, whichever is later, or send a written statement explaining why the deposit or any part of it is being withheld. The renter must notify the owner or agent of the location where payment and notice may be made or mailed. An exception is allowed when the premises are damaged—the time period is extended to 30 days.



Here are seven simple steps that could prevent security deposit nightmares for the renter. Follow these steps closely, and the chances are good that your deposit will not be withheld:

  1. Complete a cleaning and damage evaluation within five days of checking in the apartment. Note all damages and dirty areas left in the apartment. Give a copy to the landlord; if possible, have the landlord sign it. Keep a copy for your records.

  2. Keep the property clean and thoroughly clean it just before moving out.

  3. Promptly pay the rent and utility bills.

  4. Do not abuse the property or allow your friends to.

  5. Report all problems as they occur, even if you are at fault.

  6. Give the landlord proper, legal written notices, if necessary, before moving.

  7. Leave a forwarding address with your landlord in writing.

IF YOUR UTAH SECURITY DEPOSIT IS NOT REFUNDED

If the landlord or agent in bad faith fails to return the deposit within the legal limits described above, the law provides for recovery of the deposit in full as well as a civil penalty of $100 and court costs. However, the landlord must receive the renter's new address within 30 days of termination of tenancy for this law to be effective. In such case, the renter should respond in writing. It is wise to respond by registered or certified mail and keep a copy of your letter. In making a response, we suggest you include the following:

  1. Your name.

  2. The address of the former rental apartment (including apartment number).

  3. The dates of the tenancy.

  4. The amount of the deposit.

  5. That no refund has been received.

  6. The general condition of the vacated unit.

  7. A demand for payment.

  8. An address to which payment may be sent.

  9. A deadline for receiving payment.

  10. A reminder that bad faith retention carries a penalty. If the landlord does send you an itemized list of deductions within 30 days, but you disagree with the claims, you should also respond in writing and seek to negotiate a settlement. 


Have a Tenant Credit Application ?
Use our Popular Tenant Screening Tool For Small Landlords

RentLaw.com Tenant Screening Service

Deposits

Renters Insurance
Apartment Condo Home
Details
 


 

RENTLAW.com

TENANT SCREEENING

GET YOUR TENANT CREDIT REPORTS
 

FREE SETUP
No Inspection

Criminal & Credit Report, Sex Offender and more

Tenant Screening RentLaw.com


ADVERTISE HERE RentLaw.com 732-539-2914