Kansas Security Deposit
Kansas Security Deposits

Tenant Screening | Join RentLaw.com

 
In RentLaw.com

State Laws

Normal Wear Tear
EVICTIONS
Security Deposit
Breaking a Lease

Tenant Screening
Landlord Tenant Forms
Landlord Tenant Statutes
Mold Guide
Section 8
Housing Vouchers

RENTERS INSURANCE
HUD - Housing & Urban Development
Rent Collection
LATE RENT FEES
Credit Reports
Small Claims Courts
Sublet
Rent Control
Landlord Books
Lead Paint Guide
Military Lease Clause
Foreclosures
Bankruptcy
Credit Center

Free Legal Forms
Apartment Ratings
Moving Guides 
Apartment Search
Rent or Buy
Home Inspection
Tax Deductions
Lawyer Search
Home Loans - Bad Credit
Commercial Real Estate
Property Management

Commercial Introduction

Commercial Real Estate Terms

1031 Exchange

Limited Liability Co
Real Estate Trusts
Real Estate School
Contact Rentlaw.com
RentLaw on Linkedin
Kansas SECURITY DEPOSITS

The Landlord Tenant should complete and BOTH sign and DATE an INVENTORY or MOVE IN Checklist of the condition of the unit within 5 days of taken possession.

If the landlord cannot or does not do this, the tenant should do so and mail it certified to the landlord. As always, a picture of each room should be taken and any damages noted. 

This will help you should the landlord claim YOU caused damages that may have been done by the previous tenant.

All communications should be done via Certified Mail, Return Receipt Requested. 

Prior to providing a security deposit, the landlord and tenant must sign a move in inspection list which states the CURRENT condition of the property.

LIMITS

Unfurnished Apartments. ONE Month Rent 

Furnished Apartments: 1.5 months Rent

RENTING WITH A PET:  ONE HALF MONTH Rent.

Example with pet. Assume $1,000 month rent, unfurnished
The landlord may charge you: 
ONE MONTH RENT: $1,000
1/2 MONTH RENT PET DEPOSIT: $500
TOTAL SECURITY DEPOSIT: $1,500

When you give the landlord a deposit, be sure to get AND keep the receipt EVEN if you give the landlord a check or money order. The amount you give should also be on the lease. Verify the correct amount  is on the lease.

INTEREST ON SECURITY DEPOSIT

N/A

RETURN OF THE SECURITY DEPOSIT

The landlord must return the deposit along with an itemized list of deductions within 14 days after the tenant vacates the unit. In any event, the notice and deposit must be returned in 30 days.

The Tenant should notify the landlord of the their new address. If not notified, the landlord should send the notice and funds to the tenant's last known address. 

All communications should be completed via certified mail, return receipt requested.

See the RentLaw.com Guide to normal wear and tear.

FAILURE TO RETURN THE SECURITY DEPOSIT
Notify the landlord, in writing, of their failure to return the deposit.

If the Landlords withholds more then permitted, fails to return the deposit or itemized list of deductions, the landlord may be liable for up to the amount illegally withheld, PLUS 1.5 times that amount.

Have a Tenant Credit Application ?
Use our Popular Tenant Screening Tool For Small Landlords

RentLaw.com Tenant Screening Service

Deposits

Renters Insurance
Apartment Condo Home
Details
 


 

RENTLAW.com

TENANT SCREEENING

GET YOUR TENANT CREDIT REPORTS
 

FREE SETUP
No Inspection

Criminal & Credit Report, Sex Offender and more

Tenant Screening RentLaw.com


ADVERTISE HERE RentLaw.com 732-539-2914